Voting is Easy!

Important Dates

  • March 10, 2020 – Michigan Presidential Primary
  • May 5, 2020 – local elections in some cities/townships
  • August 4, 2020 – Primary Election
  • November 3, 2020 – General Election

Register to Vote

Am I eligible to vote?

In order to register to vote, you must be: a U.S. citizen; at least 18 years old by Election Day; a resident of Michigan and the city/township where you are registering for at least 30 days prior to Election Day; and not serving a sentence in jail or prison. You do not need photo ID in order to register to vote! If you do not have photo ID, you can sign a simple form saying that and still register.

How do I register to vote?

Find out if you’re registered here

You can register to vote anytime through 8 pm on Election Day, but it’s easier if you do it at least fifteen days before Election Day.

Prior to February 25, 2020, you can register for the March 10 presidential primary any of these ways: online, in person at any Secretary of State branch office; at your city/township clerk’s office or your county clerk’s office; through a registration drive; or by mail with this form.

Online registration is only available if you have a Michigan driver’s license or state ID. You do not need a Michigan driver’s license or state ID to register the other ways.

From February 25, 2020 through 8 pm on March 10, 2020, you can register for the presidential primary in person at your city/township clerk’s office, and you’ll need proof of residency. Find your city/township clerk’s office and hours here.

What works for proof of residency?

Driver’s license or state ID; utility bill; bank statement; paycheck; government check; other government document. Documents must have your name and an address in the community where you are registering. Electronic copies are ok.

Do I need a photo ID or proof of citizenship to register to vote?

No. If you register to vote in person, you will be asked for a photo ID. If you don’t have one, you can sign a simple form stating that.

If you register by mail or through a voter registration drive, write your Michigan’s driver’s license or personal ID number, or the last four digits of your social security number, on the voter registration application where indicated.

What if I moved?

When you move, you should update your voter registration. There is no charge for this.

  • Online: If you have a Michigan driver’s license or state ID, you can update your voter registration address online here.
  • By Mail: You can update your voter registration address by mail with this form.
  • In Person: You can update your voter registration address in person at any Secretary of State branch office, or at your city/township clerk’s office.
Michigan allows for only one address for voter registration and for your driver’s license or state ID. If you change your address on one, it will automatically change the other. The Secretary of State will mail you a sticker with your new address to put on your license or ID card.

Vote Early

All registered voters can vote early now by absentee ballot – you don’t need a reason. Early voting for the March 10 presidential primary begins on January 25, 2020, when absentee ballots are available.

Option 1: Vote early from home

  • Step 1: Apply for your absentee ballot. Fill out this Absent Voter Ballot Application, print it and mail, email, fax or take it to your city/township clerk. Your ballot will be mailed to you about 45 days before Election Day. 
  • Step 2: Vote and submit your ballot. Vote your ballot, sign the outer envelope and mail it back to your city/township clerk. Don’t forget to attach enough postage.
  • Step 3: Track your ballot. You can track the status of your absentee ballot online at If it doesn’t arrive, contact your clerk.

Important! Your ballot must be received by 8 pm on Election Day in order to count. Postmarked by Election Day doesn’t work! If it’s after March 3 when you’re ready to return your ballot, it’s best to drop it off at your city/township clerk’s office to make sure your ballot will be counted.

Option 2: Vote Early at Clerk’s Office

  • Starting on January 25, 2020,, go to your city/township clerk’s office and request an absentee ballot. You can also register first if necessary. Find your clerk’s office and hours here.
  • Vote your ballot and return it to the clerk. You’re done!
  • The deadline for voting early at your clerk’s office is on Monday, March 9, 2020 for the presidential primary.

Permanent Absentee Application List

To automatically receive an application for an absentee ballot before each election, you can sign up for your city/township clerk’s permanent absentee application list. You’ll still have to complete and return the application each time in order to receive your ballot for that election, but the application will automatically be sent to you.

Ways to sign up for the permanent absentee application list:

  • Check the “other elections” box, on the Absent Voter Ballot Application.
  • Call or email your clerk and request to be added to the list.
  • Sign up on your clerk’s website (if available).
  • Fill out this request form and mail it or deliver it to your clerk,
Some city/township clerks do not maintain a permanent absentee application list. If you request to be on the list and your clerk doesn’t maintain one, the clerk is required to notify you of that fact.

Vote on Election Day

When are polls open?

Polls are open on March 10, 2020 from 7 am to 8 pm. Find your polling place and see what’s on the ballot at

Can I register to vote on election day?

If it’s Election Day and you’re not yet registered to vote, you can still register! But you can’t do that at your polling place. To register on Election Day, you need to go to your city/township clerk’s office by 8 pm. Once you register, you can also vote there — you don’t need to go to your polling place. Find your clerk’s office here.

What if there’s a problem?

If you go to your polling place on Election Day and you have any problem getting a ballot, remember that you can go to your city/township clerk’s office until 8 pm, re-register and vote right there. This is likely to be a better option than a provisional ballot, because provisional ballots often do not get counted.