Michigan Democratic Party Calls on GOP Members to Resign

Just hours after the attempted insurrection at our U.S. Capitol last week, three members of Michigan’s Congressional Delegation voted to support challenges to the Electoral College votes in two states – Arizona and Pennsylvania. Each one voting to undermine the will of the voters in those two states and across this country.  Representatives Jack Bergman, Tim Walberg, and Lisa McClain all chose to side with the disgraced president, and leave their constituents behind.

There is no dispute about the result of this year’s presidential election, President-elect Joe Biden and Vice President-elect Kamala Harris won in a landslide. This outcome has been certified by every state, upheld by every court, reaffirmed by the Electoral College, and certified by Congress. 

“Representatives Walberg, McClain, and Bergman’s actions have been nothing short of an attack on our democracy, a betrayal of those who they represent, and an attempt to overturn a legitimate election in favor of a wannabe authoritarian. Their conduct is a disgrace to the three Congressional districts they represent, and to all the people of Michigan. They each should resign — immediately,” said Lavora Barnes, chair of the Michigan Democratic Party

For months, President Donald Trump and his supporters like Bergman, Walberg, and McClain have sought to undermine the will of voters across Michigan and our nation. They have made baseless claims, filed frivolous lawsuits, and attempted to overturn certified state results through congressional action

“I hope the good people of Michigan’s 1st, 7th, and 10th Congressional districts see this blatant assault on our democracy, and their freedom, for what it is and join us in calling for the immediate resignation of Representatives Bergman, Walberg, and McClain,” said Barnes.

Chip in now to elect more Michigan Democrats!

Click on an amount to get started. If you’ve saved your payment information with ActBlue Express, your donation will go through immediately.**